Academic Staff


Professor / SOPH Director
E: oakintola@uwc.ac.za

Prof. Olagoke Akintola

Professor / SOPH Director
E: oakintola@uwc.ac.za

Founding Director of SOPH

Emeritus Prof. David Sanders

Founding Director of SOPH

Professors


Professor and SARCHI Chair
E: asgeorge@uwc.ac.za

Prof. Asha George

Professor and SARCHI Chair
E: asgeorge@uwc.ac.za

Professor
E: ulehmann@uwc.ac.za

Prof. Uta Lehmann

Professor
E: ulehmann@uwc.ac.za

Professor and SARCHI Chair
E: hschneider@uwc.ac.za

Prof. Helen Schneider

Professor and SARCHI Chair
E: hschneider@uwc.ac.za

Professor
E: bvanwyk@uwc.ac.za

Prof. Brian van Wyk

Professor
E: bvanwyk@uwc.ac.za

Associate Professors


Professor
E: recoetzee@uwc.ac.za

Associate Prof. Renier Coetzee

Professor
E: recoetzee@uwc.ac.za

Associate Professor
E: htabana@uwc.ac.za

Dr Hanani Tabana

Associate Professor
E: htabana@uwc.ac.za

Senior Lecturers


Senior Lecturer
E: michelletofts@gmail.com

Dr Michelle De Jong

Senior Lecturer
E: michelletofts@gmail.com

Senior Lecturer
E: mlembani@uwc.ac.za

Dr Martina Lembani

Senior Lecturer
E: mlembani@uwc.ac.za

Senior Lecturer
E: vmathews@uwc.ac.za

Dr Verona Mathews

Senior Lecturer
E: vmathews@uwc.ac.za

Senior Lecturer
E: anyembezi@uwc.ac.za

Dr Anam Nyembezi

Senior Lecturer
E: anyembezi@uwc.ac.za

Senior Lecturer
E: ltsolekile@uwc.ac.za

Dr Lungiswa Tsolekile

Senior Lecturer
E: ltsolekile@uwc.ac.za

Education specialists


E-Learning Specialist
E: amwanda@uwc.ac.za

Ms Ziyanda Mwanda

E-Learning Specialist
E: amwanda@uwc.ac.za

Senior Researchers


Program Manager/Researcher
E: wamde@uwc.ac.za

Dr Woldekidan Kifle Amde

Program Manager/Researcher
E: wamde@uwc.ac.za

Researcher (Obesity Prevention)
E: tfrank@uwc.ac.za

Ms Tamryn Frank

Researcher (Obesity Prevention)
E: tfrank@uwc.ac.za

Senior researcher
E: smianda@uwc.ac.za

Dr Solange Mianda

Senior researcher
E: smianda@uwc.ac.za

Senior Researcher
E: schaay@mweb.co.za

Ms Nikki Schaay

Senior Researcher
E: schaay@mweb.co.za

Senior Researcher
E: bschmidt@uwc.ac.za

Dr Bey-Marrié Schmidt

Senior Researcher
E: bschmidt@uwc.ac.za

Researcher
E: mvanryneveld@uwc.ac.za

Ms Manya van Ryneveld

Researcher
E: mvanryneveld@uwc.ac.za

Part-time and associated staff


Part-time and associated staff
E: sarahdavidsngq@gmail.com

Ms Sarah Davids

Part-time and associated staff
E: sarahdavidsngq@gmail.com

Ms Ulla Walmisley

Part-time and associated staff

Part-time and associated staff
E: tmathole@uwc.ac.za

Dr Thubelihle Mathole

Part-time and associated staff
E: tmathole@uwc.ac.za

Ms Tanya Jacobs

Consultant / PhD (Countdown 2030 Project)
E: tanyaj@iafrica.com

Technical Consultant/Phd (Countdown 2030 Project)
E: mkinney@uwc.ac.za

Ms Mary Kinney

Technical Consultant/Phd (Countdown 2030 Project)
E: mkinney@uwc.ac.za

Senior Lecturer
E: hbradley@uwc.ac.za

Dr Hazel Bradley

Senior Lecturer
E: hbradley@uwc.ac.za

Part-time and associated staff

Ms Jenny Birkett

Part-time and associated staff

Ms Barbara Hutton

Part-time and associated staff

Professor
E: rswart@uwc.ac.za

Prof. Rina Swart

Professor
E: rswart@uwc.ac.za

Emeritus professors


Professor
E: tpuoane@uwc.ac.za

Prof. Thandi Puoane

Professor
E: tpuoane@uwc.ac.za

Retired Professor


Honorary Professors


Honorary professors

Prof. Fran Baum

Honorary professors

Honorary professors
E: Lucy.Gilson@uct.ac.za

Prof. Lucy Gilson

Honorary professors
E: Lucy.Gilson@uct.ac.za

Honorary Professor

Prof. Richard O Laing

Honorary Professor

Extra-ordinary professors


Extraordinary Professor
E: maj.casale@icloud.com

Dr Marisa Casale

Extraordinary Professor
E: maj.casale@icloud.com

Extra-ordinary professors
E: tanya.doherty@mrc.ac.za

Prof. Tanya Doherty

Extra-ordinary professors
E: tanya.doherty@mrc.ac.za

Professsor
E: dcooper@uwc.ac.za

Prof. Diane Cooper

Professsor
E: dcooper@uwc.ac.za

Extra-ordinary professors
E: djackson@uwc.ac.za

Prof. Debra Jackson

Extra-ordinary professors
E: djackson@uwc.ac.za

Associate Prof. Lucia Knight

Extra-ordinary professors

Associate Professor
E: jmchiza@uwc.ac.za

Associate Prof. Zandile Mchiza

Associate Professor
E: jmchiza@uwc.ac.za

Extra-ordinary professors
E: rravinetto@itg.be

Dr Raffaella Ravinetto

Extra-ordinary professors
E: rravinetto@itg.be

Adjunct Professor
E: vera.scott@capetown.gov.za

Adjunct Prof. Vera Scott

Adjunct Professor
E: vera.scott@capetown.gov.za

Extra-ordinary professors
E: czarowsky@uwc.ac.za

Prof. Christina Zarowsky

Extra-ordinary professors
E: czarowsky@uwc.ac.za

Fieldwork co-ordinators


Fieldwork co-ordinators
E: mahassen@uwc.ac.za

Ms Mariam Hassen

Fieldwork co-ordinators
E: mahassen@uwc.ac.za

Fieldwork co-ordinators
E: mmuhali@uwc.ac.za

Mr. Muhali Mulalo Kenneth

Fieldwork co-ordinators
E: mmuhali@uwc.ac.za

Research Assistants



Sivile Senzo, Sinako Fieldworkers: [12] 

  •     Nceba Phike (Fieldworker on Sivile Senza and Fieldwork Team Leader on Sinako from June 2019).
  •     Esihle Nyalambisa (Fieldworker on Sivile Senza and Fieldwork Team Leader on Sinako from June 2019).
  •     Bongiwe Paka (Fieldworker on Sivile Senza and Fieldworker on Sinako from June 2019).
  •     Eleanore Francis (Fieldworker on Sivile Senza and Fieldworker on Sinako from June 2019).
  •     Thozama Honono – Kasozi  (Fieldworker on Sivile Senza and Fieldworker on Sinako from June 2019).
  •     Sindiswa Mmango (Fieldworker on Sivile Senza and Fieldworker on Sinako from June 2019).

Nutrition Fieldworkers (Food Environment Team) 

  •     Mr Tyler Coates (Fieldworker and Control  Officer on Obesity from February 2018)
  •     Mr Sikhumbule Joni (Fieldworker and Control Officer on Obesity from  February 2018)
  •     Ms Alice Khan (Fieldworker and Control Officer on Obesity from February 2018)
  •     Ms Aneeqah Latief (Fieldworker and Control Officer on Obesity from February 2019)
  •     Ms Zintle Phekana (Fieldworker and Control Officer  on Obesity from May 2019)
  •     Ms Sharna Solomon (Fieldworker and Control Officer  on Obesity from February 2019)
  •     Ms Morongoa Tlhako (Fieldworker and Control Officer on Obesity from February 2019)

Administrative & Support Staff


Senior administrators


Senior Office Coordinator
E: nkomeni@uwc.ac.za

Ms Nolitha Komeni

Senior Office Coordinator
E: nkomeni@uwc.ac.za

Senior programme officer: Postgraduate Programme
E: ccarolissen@uwc.ac.za

Ms Corinne Carolissen

Senior programme officer: Postgraduate Programme
E: ccarolissen@uwc.ac.za

Project Manager
E: cernest@uwc.ac.za

Ms Carnita Ernest

Project Manager
E: cernest@uwc.ac.za

Administrators


Financial Administrator 
E: sabbas@uwc.ac.za

Ms Sidiqa Abbas

Financial Administrator
E: sabbas@uwc.ac.za

Ms Tasneem Abrahams

Administrative officer
E: Tabrahams-abbas@uwc.ac.za

Administrator
E: bbasson@uwc.ac.za

Ms Bridget Basson

Administrator
E: bbasson@uwc.ac.za

Receptionist
E: nbuzani@uwc.ac.za

Ms Ntombomzi Buzani

Receptionist
E: nbuzani@uwc.ac.za

Senior Financial Administrator
E: tdelima@uwc.ac.za

Ms Teresa de Lima

Senior Financial Administrator
E: tdelima@uwc.ac.za

Student Administrator: Postgraduate Programme
E: jkader@uwc.ac.za

Ms Janine Kader

Student Administrator: Postgraduate Programme
E: jkader@uwc.ac.za

Project Administrative Coordinator
E: tpetersen@uwc.ac.za

Ms Tamlin Petersen

Project Administrative Coordinator
E: tpetersen@uwc.ac.za